THE MAKING OF A SHE SHED (OR SHEd)

This summer has been replete with seemingly endless outdoor projects in our quest to finalize the exterior of the addition, address some seriously daunting landscaping issues, and ultimately, to create usable spaces around our property for lounging and entertaining. Because let me tell you…it’s been obscenely muddy and chaotic around here for what seems like an eternity! We’ve just finished building front and back decks, and are in the throes of reconstructing the neighborhood’s old pump house (which was kindly given to us) in our backyard, which we will be using for storage of seasonal and recreational items. This new acquisition has left one of our existing sheds entirely freed up for…well, the possibilities were infinite. Admittedly, I’ve always been fascinated with the idea of creating a special space – a sort of fantastical retreat – in a tiny structure, and so here was my opportunity. The decision was an easy one, and I am ecstatic to have partnered with my friends at Raymour & Flanigan in the transformation of our 10 x 10 foot utilitarian shed into an outdoor oasis for summertime chilling!

Because the shed clearly has spatial limitations, I wanted to ensure that it efficiently served two functions: providing leisurely spots for seating, and offering surfaces for entertaining (and by that, I mean places to rest drinks and such…haha!). As far as its aesthetic direction, my vision was to create a space that was equal parts global and chic, with a subdued, tropical vibe. This little, outdoor room had to feel like a bit of a sanctuary, an inviting refuge. And here’s how I did it:

Giving the dingy, interior walls and floor a fresh coat of white paint was the first step.

SHE SHED BEFORE  1    SHE SHED BEFORE  2

(Let us please ignore the newly hydro-seeded grass that has started to come in and that we have managed to kill. Despite obsessive watering.)

Once painted, then the true fun began!

SHE SHED INSTALL 0     SHE SHED INSTALL 1

I had chosen some beautifully striking and functional pieces from Raymour & Flanigan and planned on mixing them with items from my own stash to decorate and style the space. Once all the wares had been delivered, it was time for installation! I laid down a sisal rug banded with a brown border that I had in storage to create a natural, neutral grounding for the colorful and bold furnishings and decorative accents that I would be layering in the SHEd. The gorgeous ikat settee (Emelio Loveseat) and luxuriously tufted chaise lounge in navy (Lansing Chaise Lounge) add the ideal dose of sophisticated, bohemian flavor and in addition to being supremely comfortable, feel perfectly scaled in this intimate setting. The turquoise coffee table is from India and is one of my most cherished pieces from my hoard…I mean collection. Gilded wall plates and a federal-style, convex mirror (also from my hoard) were added for a touch of gilded glam, and some greenery was brought in to inject a touch of tropicalia. Can you tell I have a penchant for blue? Probably not.

SHE SHED INSTALL 2     SHE SHED INSTALL 3

Soft furnishings (pillows and suzani textiles from my hoard/collection) were added liberally. I am such a shameless fan of pattern mixing and believe it should be done with conviction…more is definitely more in this case! Saturated colors and ethnic prints always make an incredible visual impact, especially when juxtaposed against the crispness of white walls. Once all the final touches were made and everything was styled accordingly, the SHEd was ready for her debut…and here is how she looked!

SHE SHED 7

SHE SHED 2

SHE SHED 4

SHE SHED 10

SHE SHED 3

SHE SHED 12

SHE SHED 5

I also chose the Irina Outdoor Armchair and the Lodi Outdoor Serving Cart which collectively provide a wonderful, woodsy warmth to the space. Both are crafted from acacia wood and are such solid and functional pieces. No oasis would be complete without a station to replenish one’s drinks, right?

SHE SHED 9

SHE SHED 6

Essentially, I couldn’t neglect the outside of the SHEd, now that she was all done up on the inside. The Karoo Outdoor Bench is truly the most perfect of outdoor benches that I could have placed alongside one of the exterior walls. It is beautifully crafted, super long, super sturdy and has absolutely gorgeous lines. Dressed with heaps of vintage kilim pillows from Turkey, it has become my favorite perch for indulging in extra-long morning coffees.

SHE SHED OUTDOOR BENCH 1

And there you have it…as the old adage goes, good things (can) come in little packages! A huge thanks to Raymour & Flanigan for helping make this transformation happen. They have such an incredibly vast and varied array of inventory to suit any decor style, and have been such a dream to partner with!

  • I have partnered with Raymour & Flanigan and received product in exchange for this post. All expressed opinions are 100% my own.

 

 

* Images and text by Astrid Insieme

6 thoughts on “THE MAKING OF A SHE SHED (OR SHEd)

  1. Such an efficient use of a small space Astrid! Naturally I love the mix of pattern and color exuding that global chic with a tropical edge vibe. A beautiful space to lounge for sure! Superb job!

    Like

  2. Pingback: THE MAKING OF A SHE SHED (OR SHEd) — | Genuine Comfort Heating and Air

  3. Pingback: Home Decor and Interior Design Trend Forecast 2017

Leave a comment