ONE ROOM CHALLENGE – WEEK SIX – THE FINAL REVEAL

And so we’ve finally reached the finish line of the Spring 2018 One Room Challenge  … after six weeks of designing and doing, our little powder room is ready for her big debut!

Just to recap, this half-bathroom is a tiny, 5 x 5 ft space which previously found itself in this very crude state:

powder room before 2

My vision was to create a bold and dramatic jewel box of a room, fusing both traditional and global aesthetics in a way which felt fresh, chic and unique. I’ve always had a penchant for statement-making powder rooms, and I truly believe that the smaller the space, the more liberties you can take with your design choices! In essence, make it memorable. This powder room came together thanks to some amazing Craigslist finds, material from Home Depot and Lowe’s, some last-minute Amazon purchases, my amazing husband’s carpentry and masonry skills, and my own personal artistry on the walls. (You can check out previous posts to see the evolution.) And here she is now!

bathroom 12

bathroom 17

bathroom 14

bathroom 18

bathroom 13

bathroom 16

bathroom 15

bathroom 06

bathroom 05

bathroom 04

bathroom 03

bathroom 01

bathroom 10

bathroom 11

bathroom 09

We are so very happy with how it came together … thanks so much for following along and accompanying our design journey these past several weeks! Don’t forget to check out all of the other participants to see their transformations as well. A huge thanks to the One Room Challenge and House Beautiful for organizing and hosting this incredibly fun event!

 

 

ORC-Guest-400x218

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “ONE ROOM CHALLENGE – WEEK SIX – THE FINAL REVEAL

    • Thanks so much, Natasha…I really appreciate that! Go big or go home, right? I absolutely adore your living room and front hallway transformation…they came out so beautifully! Congratulations, friend!

      Like

    • Julia, thank you so much for your super sweet feedback…I really appreciate it! I was definitely going for something unique and dramatic, so I’m glad you felt that way about the space!

      Like

  1. Uhm, Astrid. I’m dying. In fact, I’m dead. That stark black & white contrast moves my spirit. You are SO talented my friend!!!! Dead over that art deco waterfall vanity … brilliant!!! 🖤😱💯

    Like

    • My friend, no dying!!! Hahah! But seriously though, thank you so, so much for your sweet words…you know I appreciate them so much! I absolutely love your transformation…it looks so incredibly amazing, Jessica!!!

      Like

  2. I love spaces that you don’t see a thousand times. You’ve done such a great job here. Don’t be surprised if visitors to this powder room get “lost” inside of it. LOL! It’s not a place you want to exit quickly. So good. Congrats on a great finish.

    Like

    • Lea, thank you so, so much! I had such a blast with this little room, I really did! Congratulations on your stunning transformation…you did an incredible job in that space, my friend!

      Like

  3. Oh Astrid, this is beyond! Love, love, love! The graphic nature of the black and white wallpaper tied in with the floor and tempered with all the brass finishes, the rattan rug; just really a treat for the senses. You did not disappoint.

    Like

    • Kimberly, thank you so, so much…I truly appreciate your kind words! Love how your new house is coming along…it’s such a gorgeous property and will only get better with your magic touch!

      Like

    • Shavonda, you are the best…thank you so, so much! You know how much I love your style too. The vanity was a super lucky Craigslist find (it was previously a dresser with drawers) that we customized into a sink vanity with cabinet doors!

      Like

    • Hi Nicole…thank you so much for your incredibly kind comment…I really appreciate that! The vessel sink was sourced years and years ago on Ebay…I can’t trace back to the vendor, unfortunately! So sorry!

      Like

Leave a comment